2015 Innovator of the Year

Congratulations to FOCUS Foods Inc, the first recipient of the Innovator of the Year Award, powered by PECO! Six competitors faced off in front of local leaders to pitch their innovative idea on September 24, 2015. The competition was fierce, but ultimately FOCUS Foods co-founder and CEO Julia Kurnik won the day with her pitch describing their plan to bring aquaponics farms to urban areas across the country. Co-founders Geoff Becker and Julia Kurnik will use put the $5,000 grant from PECO towards building the first aquaponics farm in Philadelphia in the near future.



Many thanks go to our team of judges: John McDonald, J. Patrick Killian, Karina Sotnik, T.J. Greco, Bob Simpson, and JB Braun

And congratulations to all of the 2015 finalists: FOCUS Foods Inc, Livegenic, theSMARTsub, ECE Locker Room, PhanCave, and Focus Media Services

Winning Presentation


Young Innovator Award

Young Innovator Award HeadRoom Michaela Swartz John TooherDuring the competition, HeadRoom managing partner John Tooher awarded the first Young Innovator Award to 10-year old Michaela Swartz. Michaela, our youngest applicant, has created and patented her innovative idea for customizable headbands. Congratulations, Michaela!


See more pictures of the Innovator of the Year Competition on our Facebook page here.

Leave a comment